:: inspired ::

Was reading through Rachel’s blog and i was totally inspired to do up a nineties list too! 21 songs for my 21 years.

I remember the 90’s oh-so-clearly. I remember starting Standard 1 in 1994. Making new friends. Wearing hairbands and grandma glasses. I remember catching ladybugs. Playing ring-o-roses in the middle of a small “taman” during recess. I remember singing Disney songs with fellow playmates. Boys and girls alike. Heck, i used to duet Aladdin’s “A Whole New World”. The 90s was also a life-changing time of learning timetables and 100-word “karangans” aka compositions.

I remember being obsessed with Tamagochi’s and Tetris on Gameboy. I remember collecting Barbie Dolls. I remember watching Jem & The Holograms. I remember collecting Sailormoon comic books and magic cards. I remember playing batu serembans and congkak. I remember being round and short. (no change there)

I remember shifting school from Sri Subang to Bandar Sunway. I remember sitting for the PTS exam in 1996 which was oh-so-pointless. I did not feel any smarter than other kids even if i was part of the school who had the most number of PTS jumpers. I remember not getting an A for English in UPSR in 1998 despite being best student for English overall. The thought seems ridiculous to me, even now. I remember thinking that it was the end of the world not getting an A for English. What trauma it must’ve been for my 11-year-old mind.

I remember having a tight group of friends, some of which i still keep till now.

Ah, the good ol’ days.

And the soundtrack to it all (in no particular order) :

  1. Ironic-Alanis Morrissette
  2. Trouble-Shampoo
  3. Don’t Speak-No Doubt
  4. I Don’t Wanna Wait-Paula Cole
  5. Zombie-The Cranberries
  6. Killin’ Me Softly-The Fugees Feat. Lauryn Hill
  7. Just Another Day-Jon Secada
  8. Tonight, Tonight-Smashing Pumpkins
  9. Iris-Goo Goo Dolls
  10. Searchin’ My Soul-Vonda Shepard
  11. Stay-Lisa Loeb & Nine Stories
  12. Say It Once-Ultra
  13. A Whole New World-Peabo Bryson & Regina Belle
  14. Part Of Your World-Jodi Benson
  15. Fast Car-Tracy Chapman
  16. Kiss The Rain-Billie Myers
  17. I Would Do Anything For Love (But I Won’t Do That)-Meatloaf
  18. One Week-Barenaked Ladies
  19. Don’t Turn Around-Ace Of Base
  20. All I Wanna Do-Sheryl Crow
  21. Creep-TLC

Phwoar. Some of the bands i used to listen to don’t even exist now. Miens.

I realised one thing tho. I sure did have an affinity towards soundtracks for sitcoms and movies! Still do, actually. Heh.

Imagine this :

A be-spectacled, short and chubby girl sitting in her small wooden desk and wonky chair, doing math while singing the chorus of Zombie softly to herself. I think i was never my age then.

One thought on “:: inspired ::

Leave a Reply

