:: and yet ::

Let’s forget about the tongue-tied lightning
Let’s undress just like cross-eyed strangers
This is not a joke, so please stop smiling
What was I thinking when I said it didn’t hurt?

I’d always thought that if I held you tightly
You’d always love me like you did back then
Then I fell asleep and the city kept blinking
What was I thinking when I let you back in?

-I Am Trying To Break Your Heart-Wilco-

I am a beanbag. No matter how “lightly” you sit on me, you still leave a mark.

I am a mat. No matter how you skip over me, you still leave dust.

I want to be noticed. And yet.

Your thoughts are higher than mine. So are Your ways. Teach me patience.

Leave a Reply

