:: chasing cars ::

Physically tired, mind fully awake. A state i don’t quite want to be in right now. Drat academic journals.

I don’t quite know
How to say
How I feel

Those three words
Are said too much
They’re not enough

If I lay here
If I just lay here
Would you lie with me and just forget the world?

Forget what we’re told
Before we get too old
Show me a garden that’s bursting into life

Let’s waste time
Chasing cars
Around our heads

I need your grace
To remind me
To find my own

If I lay here
If I just lay here
Would you lie with me and just forget the world?

-Chasing Cars-Snow Patrol-

*********************************************************************

People say, don’t wear your heart on your sleeve. I never really understood that. Why would one do that? Why WOULDN’T one do that? Displaying all the brokenness, the rawness, the fragile life of which it beats?

Why would people want to display their emotions openly?

It is sure as you are Roderigo,
Were I the Moor, I would not be Iago:
In following him, I follow but myself;
Heaven is my judge, not I for love and duty,
But seeming so, for my peculiar end:
For when my outward action doth demonstrate
The native act and figure of my heart
In compliment extern, ’tis not long after
But I will wear my heart upon my sleeve
For daws to peck at: I am not what I am.

-quoted from Shakespeare’s Othello

I agree with one of its definitions that say “revealing your heart makes you a victim”. Of course, i’m not taking it in the context of Othello right now, which speaks of betrayal and all that…heavy stuff. Just in case some literature buff comes after me. Lols.

I got enlightened when i recalled how God’s Word says, “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” (Matt 6:21)

In your heart, you hold precious things. Things that could cause potentially a lot of pain, should it be lost…or taken away. Why i agree with the Othello definition? Revealing your heart…or “wearing your heart on your sleeve” makes you a victim.

Because hearts get stolen.

Leave a Reply

