:: i wanna be just like You ::

Sometimes, i feel like…i’m just too selfish for my own good. Brat? I am.

Jesus isn’t selfish. In Matthew 14, even when John The Baptist was beheaded, Jesus had to ‘postpone’ his mourning and minister to people first. Only after when he’s helped those who needed him, did he steal away to mourn.

Too often, i’ve caught myself saying or thinking…why should *i* make that sacrifice. To do something when i could do something else. To wait just a little bit longer. To drive just a little bit farther. To eat a little bit less. To watch what i say to someone when i know well he or she deserves to hear it. The phrase ‘keep the unity’ rings so clear.

God, You show me time and time again how i’m just a work in progress. I’d never be that perfect masterpiece. And yet…You give me hope that i can be.

I’m currently looking for a job. Praying, seeking…taking that leap of faith and believing that i’ll land where God wants me to be. Could’ve just taken up that ‘other’ job. But i felt it wasn’t for me. Not now. It was too easy. Too comfortable.

27But Jesus was quick to comfort them. “Courage, it’s me. Don’t be afraid.”

28Peter, suddenly bold, said, “Master, if it’s really you, call me to come to you on the water.”

29-30He said, “Come ahead.”

Jumping out of the boat, Peter walked on the water to Jesus. But when he looked down at the waves churning beneath his feet, he lost his nerve and started to sink. He cried, “Master, save me!”

31Jesus didn’t hesitate. He reached down and grabbed his hand. Then he said, “Faint-heart, what got into you?”

I could’ve taken the easier route. But He’s asking me to walk on water. And you ask me, “What got into me?”

Jesus did.

******************************************************************************************

On a random note, i absolutely love picking my brother up from school. It gives me this secret thrill in watching these kids run (literally, run, as if they’re being chased by a pack of wolves) out of school, the moment the school bell rings. They’re so cute lah. How fast time flies. It was only…yesterday, that i was 7, in grandma specs and coconut hair…eating a whole hard-boiled egg to signify the first day of school.

I think that’s when i realised how much i disliked egg yolks. I was forced to eat that whole egg. And i almost puked.

When i grow up and have kids…and if one of them so happens to be a girl? She’s gonna have pigtails. And the tradition of eating hard-boiled eggs on the first day of school? I’m gonna let it slide.

I think an apple would do just fine. Anything that keeps the doctor away should keep the barf-level stable.

Leave a Reply

