:: the discipline of waiting ::

I did a bit of reading today. And this is what i learnt :)

An excerpt from Quest for Love, by Elisabeth Elliot:

The cross in Roman times was an instrument of torture. Jesus took it up gladly – in obedience to His Father and for the love of you and me. If He asks us to take up our cross daily, He is asking us to be willing to suffer. What else can the cross mean?

Except for those far ahead of most of us in sanctity, waiting is a form of suffering – the difficulty of self-restraint, the anguish of unfulfilled longing, the bewilderment of unanswered prayer, my flesh and my heart failing, my soul breaking. These are indeed tribulations, and tribulation is the curriculum if we are to learn patience. We want answers now, right now, but we are required at times to walk in darkness.

Nevertheless, God is in the darkness.

10 But He knows the way that I take; When He has tested me, I shall come forth as gold. – Job 23:10

I don’t need to know the why, the when, the hows. It’s a nice-to-know. But not a must. Guarding my heart, and keeping my silence.

I trust You. Let that be enough.

One thought on “:: the discipline of waiting ::

Leave a Reply

