:: to be or not to be ::

As i sit in my comfy chair, pondering what the nation thinks about the upcoming elections, i sit feeling…discontented. I am a Gen Y. And it’ll be my first time voting, if #GE13 materialises. I’m praying it will, else i lose my chance to exercise my right.

That’s right. MY right. To vote.

But vote for what? Neither side seems to pose victory as sweet as it is when i’m drinking a hot cup of Milo. It’s not just about voting the Opposition because i don’t like the current government. It’s not just about voting against people who have been in power for so long, they’ve forgotten the real reason why they’re up there for. And i sure as heck am not voting to get freebies.

Why then, should i bother? What can sitting on my chair, feeling disgruntled amount to? Rather, CAN it amount to anything? Should i be the Malaysian that complaints and does nought, or be the Malaysian who at least tries?

Well, here goes.

I’m reminded that i’m in Malaysia for a reason. I’m reminded that when i go OUT of Malaysia, i come home feeling like i’ve been away for too long even though its just been one week. I come HOME.

I’m voicing out because who knows, something might catch on. If ‘Listen-ing’ can do it, surely #VoiceOfGenY has a shot.

I believe that Malaysia is a good land. That she still has promises deep within her. Just ready to be unveiled. To the right people, at the right time. For the right purpose. I remind myself that i’m standing (or sitting) here today…still believing in something that i said every Monday in school as a ‘Perhimpunan’ ritual. (Surely it complies to the ‘Peaceful Assembly Act? Or has that been banned now? Hmm.)

But i remind us to believe in this again:

Kepercayaan kepada Tuhan, (Belief in God)

Kesetiaan kepada Raja dan Negara, (Loyalty to the King and country)

Keluhuran Perlembagaan, (Supremacy of the constitution)

Kedaulatan Undang-undang, (Rule of law)

Kesopanan dan kesusilaan. (Courtesy and morality)

We forget…that belief in God comes right on top. Irregardless of faith, i think if we get the first principle right, the rest will fall into place. Psalm 2:8 says, “Ask of Me and i will give you the nations for your inheritance, and the ends of the earth for your possession”.

I am Malaysian and i ask for Malaysia. For her people. To her people.

God bless this land.

Leave a Reply

