:: rooted ::

Stirred in my heart. Reading the newspapers these days, and i’m just…aghast. This song has reminded me…i have roots. And i want them to grow deep. And green. Lord, let me bear much fruit.

Anak Siapa by Mia Palencia

 

Where do you come from?

Or did you forget?

Is it where the sun rises or there where it sets?

I’ve got a feeling you don’t know.

I’ve got a feeling you don’t know.

 

Who is your father and the one before him?

If you know who they are then why did you change your name?

I’ve got a feeling you don’t know.

I’ve got a feeling you don’t know.

 

Have we forgotten or are we ashamed?

Did we give it all up as the price of our fame?

Did we murder our roots just to wander afar?

You know our wounds are still fresh or you’ll notice our scars.

Do you know whose child you are?

Do you know whose child you are?

 

Is the grass you saw greener over there on that side?

While the good people back here fight to keep the colors alive.

I’ve got a feeling you don’t know.

I’ve got a feeling you don’t know.

 

Have we forgotten or are we ashamed?

Did we give it all up as the price of our fame?

Did we murder our roots just to wander afar?

You know our wounds are still fresh or you’ll notice our scars.

Do you know whose child you are?

Do you know whose child you are?

 

I’m my daddy’s girl,

I’m my momma’s girl,

Saya anak ibu,

Saya anak bapakku.

 

I’ve got a feeling you don’t know.

I’ve got a feeling you don’t know.

Have we forgotten or are we ashamed?

Did we give it all up as the price of our fame?

Did we murder our roots just to wander afar?

You know our wounds are still fresh or you’ll notice our scars

Do you know whose child you are?

Do you know whose child you are?

Kamu ini anak siapa?

Kamu ini anak siapa?

 

Saya ini anak orang kita. 

 

I’m trying to do what i can. With the resources i have and the time i can give. God, what else?

Leave a Reply

